Musings for a Thursday

I never imagined when I started writing the five short stories that ended up in my anthology “The Fantastical Life of Serenity” about three years ago (much like an artist doodles, I was just sort of typing down disparate ideas) that they would come together, culminating into a story that weaved them into and around each other like the threads of the Fates. I was literally just “doodling”. I had about seven pages of three of them, five of another and only two of another. They were stories I had started but never could figure out where to take.

Then, one day last year or so, I thought, why not put these short stories together in a book, like Carver’s Shortcuts? So, I started the project…but at the time I was the mother of an infant who hated to sleep and not much ever came of my attempts. More recently, however, now that he sleeps more consistently and is 18 months old and able to entertain himself for extended periods, I thought I might try again. In a matter of two or three weeks, I had completed all five short stories (ranging between 6,500 and 8,000 or so words each). All of a sudden, I had a book done! It is now being edited and based on suggestions from the editor, will most likely end up being a bit longer than it is at the moment. I couldn’t be more excited! I am so excited in fact, I have already started another project, one that ties in with the anthology. Stay tuned for more on that!

I am in contact with my modeling photographer regarding cover art and am determined to have this anthology out in the very near future!

Love & Books,

~ Serenity

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

